Sullivan County Schools

Sullivan County Schools


Educational Services

About Us

The Sullivan County Dept. of Education is located in the beautiful mountains of northeastern Tennessee. The system is comprised of 23 schools, divided into 4 zones, and serves over 10,000 students in grades Pre-K through 12. All the middle and high schools are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
The Dept. of Education is the third largest employer in the area with over 1700 full and part time staff comprised of professionals and support.

The Director of Schools is Dr. Jubal Yennie and the system is governed by its Board of Education.

Mission Statement:
The Sullivan County Board of Education, in partnership with students, families, employees and community, will utilize all available resources to provide a collaborative learning environment that will enable each student to reach his/her maximum potential as a productive and successful citizen in an ever changing global and technological environment.

The vision of the Sullivan County Department of Education is to prepare each student and teacher to meet the challenges of the world today and tomorrow with the skills and desire for lifelong learning.